Board Of Directors

Mr. Priyantha Fernando

Mr. Priyantha Fernando


With more than 35 experience at the Central Bank, Mr. Priyantha Fernando rose to the position of Deputy Governor during 2010/2011, where he was in charge of Financial System Stability and Corporate Service clusters. With extensive experience and expertise in the fields of Banking and Finance, Mr. Fernando is well knowledgeable in policy making levels of financial regulation and supervision, information technology, national accounting, macro-economic analysis and statistics, finance and fund management.

At the Central Bank, Mr. Fernando held positions as the Chairman of the Financial Stability Committee, a member of the Monetary Policy Committee, a member of the Risk Management Committee and Chairman of the National Payment Council. He also functioned as the Secretary to the Monetary Board during 2009/2010.

He was also an ex-officio board member in several regulatory organizations, namely the Securities and Exchange Commission, Insurance Board of Sri Lanka and Chairman of the Credit Information Bureau, Institute of Bankers – Sri Lanka. Mr. Fernando has also served as a board member at Employee’s Trust Fund, Lanka Clear (Pvt) Ltd and Lanka Financial Services Bureau.

During his career, Mr. Fernando initiated and spearheaded several key projects of national importance, especially in the area of developing infrastructure for national payments and settlement systems. He has served many committees at national levels, covering a range of subjects representing the Central Bank.

Currently, Mr. Priyanka Fernando is appointed the Chairman of Golden Key Credit Card Company while serving on the board of Union Bank of Colombo PLC. Furthermore, he is also the acting Chairman of Taprobane Holdings Ltd, Ceylon Leather Products PLC, Equi Capital (Pvt) Ltd, Golden Key Hospitals Ltd, Thomas Cook Travels Sri Lanka and Imperial Institute of Higher Education.

Mr. Luxhman Jayaratne

Mr. Luxhman Jayaratne

Independent Director

Mr. Luxhman Jayaratne has over 37 years of banking experience working across several countries in Asia, Europe and Africa – focusing on the management of operations and technology, with involvement in product management.

Mr. Jayaratne was directly involved in establishing Citibank in Sri Lanka and Romania. He was also the Head of Operations and Technology of CitiBank – Africa, covering a total of 14 countries prior to joining the Union Bank of Nigeria PLC.

Mr. Jayaratne specializes in the management of operations and technology, process regionalization and centralization, and commercial banking.

Mr. U. H. Ebert Silva

Non-Executive Director

Mr. U.H. Ebert Silva was appointed to the Board of Commercial Leasing and Finance PLC (CLC) as an independent, non-executive Director with effect from 09th of October 2017.

With over 30 years of experience in banking, regulatory and financial reporting, human resource management and administration – Mr. Silva was a former official of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka. Upon joining CBSL in 1986, Mr. Silva has worked in various departments such as Bank Supervision, Employee’s Provident Fund, Facilities Management and Centre for Banking Studies, till his retirement in the year 2017.

Mr. Silva holds a B.Sc. Degree in Business Administration from the University of Sri Jayawardenapura and read for his M.A in Economics from the University of Ohio, USA.

Mr. U. H. Ebert Silva


Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr. Thamotharampillai Sanakan counts for over 20 years of experience at top management levels in multiple industries such as financial services, trading, manufacturing, healthcare and consumer.

Currently, Mr. Sanakan serves as the Group Chief Financial Officer of Browns Group of Companies with the involvement of directing Browns’ business lines for profitability, growth and sustainability, via strategic finance directives. He was directly involved in establishing LOLC Securities Ltd, which deals with capital markets.

Mr. Sanakan previously held the position of Chief Operating Officer at LOLC Securities Ltd and served as a rule-setting committee member of the Securities and Exchange Commission of Sri Lanka.

He excels in the areas of change management, new business start-ups, business process re-engineering, project management and strategic business management. He also serves on the boards of Associated Battery Manufacturers (Ceylon) Ltd., Browns Pharmaceuticals Ltd. and Browns Pharma Ltd. He is an Associate Member of Chartered Institute of Management Accountants of UK and Chartered Global Management Accountants of USA.

Mr. Krishan Thilakaratne

Mr. Krishan Thilakaratne

Executive Director / CEO

Mr. Krishan Thilakaratne is the Director/CEO of Commercial Leasing & Finance PLC, as well as the Head of Islamic Finance of LOLC Group. He also serves on the board of Commercial Insurance Brokers (Pvt) Ltd – the largest insurance broker in Sri Lanka and associate company of Commercial Leading & Finance PLC.

Prior to this, Mr. Thilakaratne was the CEO of Lanka ORIX Factors Ltd and CEO of Auto Finance of LOLC. He is an Associate Member of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka and joined the LOLC Group in 1995.